Loose ends

I finished Unaccustomed Earth just in time to get it back to the library last weekend. That book was so good that I worry it set the bar a little too high for the rest of the reading list. I just loved it. When I finished the last sentence, I actually felt a little ache in the pit of my stomach, partially because of the ending of the final story (it wrapped up the last three stories actually, since they are all linked together following two characters), partially because the fun of reading Lahiri was over.

I started my next selection, Gustav Niebehr’s Beyond Tolerance, and I’m more than halfway done. It is certainly interesting at times, and it’s teaching me a few things, but reading it does not inspire the kind of reflection and admiration that reading Lahiri does. While reading Unaccustomed Earth, you can sense that what you’re reading is truly artistic, that it is the work of a brilliant mind who has a deep understanding of the inner workings of the mind and heart. It’s magical. Reading a non-fiction book is likely never going to award the reader that kind of experience. And so it is a little hard to be as absorbed in Gustav’s words. His book is more about ideas.

And those ideas are certainly worth ruminating over. A third-generation religion writer and a former journalist, Gustav wants to challange everyone living in this age of religious diversity to not only tolerate one another but to work to understand and find mutual respect for people of all faiths. He wants interfaith dialogue that isn’t about conversion but understanding. He peppers his writing with examples of people alive and long dead who have strived for that kind of working relationship between different faiths. From founding fathers to clergymen working today, he shows that in almost any situation, finding the common ground with your neighbors of different faiths makes stronger communities and a safer, more dignified world.

Like I said, certainly interesting. I’m reading a chapter now titled, “An Era of Conversation.” It’s funny because when I first saw it, I thought it said, “An Era of Conversion,” and I started to get a little worried. Something about the word “conversion” does make me uncomfortable. It smacks of forcefulness, of “converting” people. That’s not at all what Gustav is all about. I like that. Even as a Christian, knowing that Jesus calls us to “make disciples of all nations,” I feel resistance to making it a goal to convert people. I would rather live my life in Jesus’ commands and attract others that way. Then if they ask questions, I am more than willing to “testify,” as they say. This book also reminds us that as much as we want to let others know what we consider Truth, you rarely will get anywhere without listening and understanding who you are preaching to.

So that’s what I’ve got so far.

I need to also wrap up the book of James. I did not do so well on my vow to read from James daily. I probably did it about half the time. I’ve got to keep working to improve that, especially after reading the latest chapter in Richard Foster’s Celebration of Discipline, which stresses how important the discipline of study is. Next up is the book of Exodus. I’d like to read through it twice.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible reading, Housekeeping, Reviews and summaries, Up next...

Leave a comment